Skip to main content
Students work on a project with bones during a paleontology class

Undergraduate Programs

Expand your knowledge of human culture, behavior and social institutions — and how they impact lifeways past and present.

What We Offer

Our department offers four undergraduate degrees: B.A. in Anthropology, B.A. in Criminology, B.A. in Sociology and B.S. in Sociology. Despite differences in approach and scope, each field examines components of human society — our systems, structures, cultures and practices — with the goal of elevating our understanding of human nature.

We are passionate about our students’ education. Our faculty will encourage you to be a curious and critical thinker and to ask the difficult, probing questions about the world in which you live.

What Can I Do With My Degree?

From archaeologists to law enforcement officers, our alumni are able to pursue their passions. Lieutenant Brett Walsh (Criminology ’07) leads the Fuquay-Varina Police Department’s special operations division.

Explore Career Paths 
Brett Walsh, a police officer, sits at table

Student Organizations

student standing in front of anthropology club poster

Pursue your interests. Meet like-minded friends and those whose views challenge your own. We encourage our students to get involved during their time on campus. NC State offers more than 700 registered student organizations — and some of those have deep ties to our department.

  • Alpha Kappa Delta: Alpha Kappa Delta (AKD) is an international sociology honor society that serves to promote academic scholarship and interest in the sociological understanding of human life.
  • Anthropology Club: The Anthropology Club welcomes all majors to join in its exploration of human origins, material remains and culture. The club hosts speakers, outings and discussions of interest to its members.
  • Criminal Justice Club: The Criminal Justice Club aims to provide students interested in the criminal justice field an environment in which they can foster their interests, meet like-minded peers, and network within the field.
  • Taylor Sociology Club: The Taylor Sociology Club provides students the opportunity to pursue their sociological interests and promotes an understanding of the discipline of sociology.
students studying at library table

Connect With Us

Undergraduate Program Contacts

Troy Case
Email: dtcase@ncsu.edu
Phone: 919-515-9024

Sarah Bowen
Email: sarah_bowen@ncsu.edu
Phone: 919-515-0452

Anna Manzoni
Email: amanzon@ncsu.edu
Phone: 919-515-9004

Stephanie Jares
Coordinator of Advising (Anthropology, Criminology and Sociology)

Email: sjares@ncsu.edu

Tara Clarke
Advisor (Anthropology)
Email: taclarke@ncsu.edu

Joshua Friedman
Advisor (Anthropology)
Email: jbfried3@ncsu.edu

E. Megan Glancy
Advisor (Sociology and Criminology)
Email: emglancy@ncsu.edu

Alison Greene
Advisor (Anthropology)‌
Email: acgreene@ncsu.edu

DeAnn Judge
Advisor (Applied Sociology and Criminology)‌
Email: ddjudge@ncsu.edu
Phone: 919-513-4629

Margaret Stiffler
Advisor (Sociology and Criminology)‌
Email: margaret_stiffler@ncsu.edu
Phone: 919-513-0438

Karen Wirth
Advisor (Sociology)
Email: kpwirth@ncsu.edu

Jim Yocom
Advisor (Sociology)
Email: jeyocom@ncsu.edu

Student Ambassador Program

The Student Ambassador Program is a team of undergraduate student volunteers who assists the Department of Sociology and Anthropology with recruitment, mentorship and communications — including the department newsletter. Reach out to Stephanie Jares for more information.

Social Media

Follow us on Facebook for the latest department news and updates.