Skip to main content
student and advisor looking at paper

Academic Advising

Connect with your advisor to register for classes and explore new opportunities.

Achieve Your Goals

Each student in the Department of Sociology and Anthropology is assigned to a professionally trained academic advisor. You will work with your advisor from entry until graduation, allowing you to build a trusting relationship with one advisor who knows your academic and career aspirations, and who will help keep you on track to achieve your goals.

Your advisor is here to provide academic assistance as you work toward obtaining your degree in anthropology, criminology or sociology. Through advising, we help you identify and clarify your academic interests and personal and career goals. While academic advising is a collaborative process, the ultimate responsibility for your educational experience rests with you, the student.

What to Expect in Advising

Academic advising at the university level is somewhat different than any advising or counseling you received in high school. Academic advising is a one-on-one relationship between you and your advisor. This means:

  • All meetings will take place between just you and your advisor, unless you request the presence of another faculty member.
  • Family and friends will be asked to wait while the advisor meets with the student.
  • Your advisor can not share your academic information with anyone, except those individuals to whom you have given FERPA permission.

Take advantage of the support your advisor can provide; go see your advisor early and get to know them. If you have a problem or question you need help with, you will need to contact your advisor — they will not know you need help unless you ask for it — but they are happy to provide assistance throughout your academic career.

Academic Support Center

Need help with study skills or time management? Graduate student advisors at the Academic Support Center are standing by to help current students.

Learn More 
student helping other student using laptop

Contact Us

Stephanie Jares
Coordinator of Advising (Anthropology, Criminology and Sociology)

Email: sjares@ncsu.edu

Tara Clarke
Advisor (Anthropology)
Email: taclarke@ncsu.edu

Joshua Friedman
Advisor (Anthropology)
Email: jbfried3@ncsu.edu

E. Megan Glancy
Advisor (Sociology and Criminology)
Email: emglancy@ncsu.edu

Alison Greene
Advisor (Anthropology)‌
Email: acgreene@ncsu.edu

DeAnn Judge
Advisor (Applied Sociology and Criminology)‌
Email: ddjudge@ncsu.edu

Margaret Stiffler
Advisor (Sociology and Criminology)‌
Email: margaret_stiffler@ncsu.edu

Karen Wirth
Advisor (Sociology)
Email: kpwirth@ncsu.edu

Jim Yocom
Advisor (Sociology)
Email: jeyocom@ncsu.edu